Part I of ByLaws




A. Creation. Article VIII, Section 7 of the 1974 Constitution of the State of Louisiana authorizes the creation of the Southern University Board of Supervisors as a body corporate.

B. Powers. Subject to powers vested in the Board of Regents by Article VIII, Section 5 of the 1974 Constitution of the State of Louisiana, the Board of Supervisors shall supervise and manage the Southern University System and its several components including the statewide agricultural programs and other programs administered through its System.

C. Membership. The Board shall be composed of two members from each congressional district of the State, and one member from the State at large, all appointed by the Governor, with the consent of the Senate, and one student member. The student member shall be selected by and from the membership of a council composed of student body presidents of the colleges and universities under the management and supervision of the Board of Supervisors. All of these shall be voting members. The members shall serve overlapping terms of six years, following initial terms fixed by law. The term of the student member shall not exceed one year, in accordance with applicable law; and no student member shall be eligible to succeed himself. The student member shall serve until his successor takes office.




D. Domicile. The domicile of the Board of Supervisors of Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College shall be East Baton Rouge Parish, Louisiana.


This website uses cookies to ensure site visitors get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies and Privacy Statement. To find out more, please visit Southern University's Privacy Statement.

I agree