News & Media

<< Return

SU Board names SUNO chancellor, elects 2017 officers - Friday, November 25, 2016
Lisa Mims-Devezin                                 Ann A. Smith                                   Donald R. Henry

The Southern University (SU) Board of Supervisors, Friday, November 25, 2016, named interim chancellor Lisa Mims-Devezin as chancellor of Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO).

The SU Board of Supervisors also unanimously elected Ann A. Smith as chair, and the Rev. Donald R. Henry, as vice chair for 2017, during its regular meeting held in New Orleans.

Mims-Devezin was one of two finalists selected by a 19-member search committee, co-chaired by Charles Rice, chief executive officer, Entergy New Orleans, and Gloria B. Moultrie, vice chancellor for community outreach and university advancement, SUNO. The committee was charged with screening and recommending final candidates to replace Victor Ukpolo who stepped down June 30, 2016.

The new Board officers will replace Leon R Tarver II and Calvin Braxton Sr., chair and vice chair for the past two years.

SU Board of Supervisors Chairman Leon R. Tarver II and SU System President Ray L. Belton offered congratulations to the chancellor-elect who will lead SUNO.

"Dr. Mims-Devezin enjoys tremendous support of the SUNO community and I look forward to working with her," said Belton.

Mims-Devezin has more than 20 years of experience in higher education. Before being named interim chancellor of SUNO, she was the dean of SUNO’s College of Arts and Sciences. She served as the college's associate dean for eight years.

Mims-Devezin has a bachelor of science in biology/pre-med from SUNO, a master of science in biology/microbiology and a Ph.D. in science/math education from Southern University Baton Rouge.

The SUNO chancellor-elect is a native of Long Beach, California. She and her husband, Jerome J. Devezin Jr., have one son, Joshua Jerome Devezin. 

"Thank you for your confidence in me," said Mims-Devezin as she acknowledged her family and SUNO faculty, staff, and students for their support of her leadership.
"I have nothing but love for all of you and I am a proud alumna of SUNO and daughter of the SU System. I am because Southern University is," she said.

The SU Board of Supervisors chair-elect represents the 1st Congressional District. Smith is a retired school educator and administrator in Tangipahoa Parish, member of the Louisiana School Board Association, and former member of the Tangipahoa Parish School Board.

"Thank you for you vote of confidence. I am ready to work as your public servant and leader. We have many challenges to face. Together we can move this great System to a higher level," said Smith.

Henry represents the 2nd Congressional District. Henry is a planning and scheduling professional at Noranda Alumina, LLC; and co-owner of DRH Consulting Group, LLC in Gramercy.

"SU is waiting on everyone to fully participate in the success of the University. We’re going to another level and I thank you for allowing me to be a part of it," said Henry.

In other action the Board also approved the appointment of three deans at SUBR: Cynthia Bryant, College of Humanities and Interdisciplinary Studies; Patrick Carriere, College of Sciences and Engineering; and Damien Ejigiri, Nelson Mandela College of Government and Social Sciences.

The Board of Supervisors of Southern University and Agricultural and Mechanical College serves to manage and supervise the Southern University System.


© Copyright 2018, Southern University System. All rights reserved.